Just for today…


This last weekend I went through Reiki First Level training, received my atunement, and am officially an apprentice.

Even now as I type, and am thinking of Reiki, my hands are warm – and to point out how different this truly is for me – I have low blood pressure. My hands are normally quite cold, sometimes if I am not paying attention, my finger nails are bluish and then I know to move around a bit to get my blood flowing.

Perhaps now my blood pressure is more regulated – I haven’t noticed any other changes to my routines, eating habits, etc.  Only that when I think of Reiki, my hands warm up and then get hot, hot, HOT.

Part of our training this weekend, included history and how to apply Reiki to ourselves. Since then I have also practiced on my two cats, the dog and the 4 tortoises.  They seem to enjoy it, falling asleep as I work on them. This morning I dreamt I was doing Reiki on myself and woke up to hot hands.

I also learned about Hibiki – and experienced my own – which manifested as 1. a feeling like a vacuum nozzle was stuck to my palms; and 2. a feeling like a phone on vibrate on my palms.

Learning and practicing is much like learning a new language. Vocabulary may be easy – but the nuances in everyday use are where the real beauty lies.

I love the principles and so I share them here with you (even if you know them, re-reading them in someone else’s voice may bring you additional joy):

Just for today I will not worry.

Just for today I will not be angry.

Just for today I will be grateful.

Just for today I will do my work honestly.

Just for today I will be kind to all living things.

I look forward to taking the next level, and until then, I will practice diligently. Just for today…

Leave a Reply

